BUSINESS LICENSE INFORMATION
Any person engaging in business within Riverdale City must first procure a license. According to the Riverdale City Municipal Code 3-1-1, Engaging in Business: Includes, but is not limited to, the sale of tangible personal property and the rendering of personal services for others for a consideration by persons engaged in any craft, business, occupation or other calling.
All businesses must be registered with the State of Utah: Click Here
Certain businesses may require approvals from additional agencies such as the Weber-Morgan Health Department, the Department of Alcohol and Beverage Control (DABC), the Utah Division of Occupational Licensing (DOPL), and the Utah Tax Commission.
All persons doing business in Riverdale City that are required to have a state sales tax number shall provide to the city a copy of the sales tax certificate listing Riverdale City as the point of sale.
Applications shall be submitted to the City Recorder with a copy of the sales tax certificate.
Business regulations are located in Title 3 of the Riverdale City Municipal Code: Click Here
Fee Exempt Home Occupation
Beer and Liquor
Business license application fees are listed in the Consolidated Fee Schedule:
For assistance in calculating fees please contact the City Recorder, Jackie Manning at
Annual Business License Renewals
All business licenses expire on December 31st.
To renew your business online Click Here
Payments can also be made over the phone with a credit card (VISA or MasterCard) by calling 801-394-5541.
You will need to know your account number/business license number and account balance to utilize either option.
Riverdale City Municipal Offices
4600 S. Weber River Drive
Riverdale, Utah 84405
Office Hours: Monday – Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
City Recorder/Business License
Community Development Director
Business License Agency Contact Information: Click Here
ADDITIONAL BUSINESS IFORMATION
Who must register their business?
All businesses in Utah are required by law to register with the Utah Department of Commerce either as a "DBA" (Doing Business As), corporation, limited liability company or limited partnership. Businesses are also required to obtain a business license from the city or county in which they are located.
Why are businesses required to register?
Registration is required so that a comprehensive state registry of all business and corporate information is available for public reference. This information is vital to an orderly legal system and marketplace. Without it, the public or other businesses may have no way of knowing the persons with whom they are doing business.
Where do you register your business name?
You can register your business by contacting:
Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code
160 East 300 South, 2nd Floor
Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0801
You can register your business either in person or by mail. There is a $20.00 filing fee for a renewable three-year registration for a DBA. Businesses that incorporate, form a limited liability company or limited partnership must file incorporating or organizing articles with a filing fee of $50.00.